Many Adobe Lightroom users on iOS have suffered a crippling data loss after a faulty routine update.
Users who updated to Adobe Lightroom Mobile 5.4.0 on iPhone or iPad had their photos and software presets deleted unexpectedly.
Adobe, which develops a large suite of creative apps for the media and design-sectors, has apologised and issued an update for the fault, but made clear that the lost data is irretrievable to those without backups.
The software company’s statement clarify it is only a subset of Lightroom users who have been affected – specifically those:
- Using Lightroom Mobile 5.4.0 on an iOS device (iPhone/iPad)
- Without an Adobe Cloud Subscription, or with cloud sync disabled
- Without a separate device or cloud backup (such as iCloud) in operation, independent of Lightroom itself.
This includes many free version users who would have trialled Lightroom without a full Adobe Creative Cloud subscription.
Hundreds of unlucky users took to Adobe’s Support Forums, social media and Reddit to complain that years of photos had been lost as part of the routine update. Others flagged that restoring from local device backups deleted the restore once the app was re-opened.
As noted by The Register, Adobe’s problem is especially acute given Lightroom’s specialist popularity among professional photographers, and others who have significant time or money invested in valued images.
Users are advised to update to 5.4.1 to avoid the issue, although this will not restore lost photos. As always: please, please, please maintain an independent backup of all data you can’t afford to lose.
For IT Support and business continuity assistance, please contact our team today.